Current track

House Afrika Unmixed Vol. 5

House Afrika Unmixed Vol. 5

Various Artists. HAR201704. 5th May 2017.

Buy Online

It’s one for the DJs and the serious deep house heads: House Afrika return with the fifth volume in their ‘Unmixed’ series.

And it’s a pretty vital snapshot of the Mzansi house scene right now. Previous volumes have included international artists – this session is 100% local. And it sums up what’s happening on more discerning dancefloors countrywide.

More importantly, it’s a fantastic showcase of unmixed AmaPiano. The House Afrika label were the first out of the blocks with the new genre heating up South Africa with their two ‘AmaPiano’ compilations. But importantly, for DJs especially, is that ‘Unmixed’ has some vital examples of AmaPiano in their fullest form.

AmaPiano heavyweights are all over the tracklist: there’s Mfr Souls, Gaba Cannal, Kabza De Small and Luu Nineleven. And these names are joined by newbies like Tumza D’kota & Mono Soul, Josiah De Disciple & Vusinator, Da Muziqal Chef, Master Jay and Morena The Squire.

While AmaPiano may be an overarching theme, it’s not the only thing on display here. ZuluMafia feat. Kilobites bring some jazz to the party; Morena The Squire a touch of gospel house; there’s a tinge of disco from Nteeze & Andy; Loxion Deep lend an old-school kwaito feel; and Vine Musiq & Senzo SkyBoy’s contribution is a broken beat delight with township patois.

So while AmaPiano is a jump-off point for this twenty-track double-disc selection, there’s plenty of variety on offer, and it’s all solid and memorable. It’s probably the most important DJ tool of the year so far.

Disc 1.
01. ZuluMafia feat. Kilobites – Memories (Original Mix)
02. Mfr Souls – Sorrow (Deeper Mix)
03. Tumza D’kota & Mono Soul – GCM Flava (Original Mix)
04. Gaba Cannal – Spice (Main Mix)
05. Dj Vusinator – Nomfundo (Natored Mix)
06. Kabza Da Small – Meropa (Main Mix)
07. Josiah De Disciple & Vusinator – Black & White
08. Luu Nineleven – It’s Your Vibe (Original Mix)
09. Major Souls – Phinda Mzala (Main Mix)
10. Nteeze & Andy – A Chance 4 Peace

Disc 2.
01. Bantu Elements – New Age
02. Da Muziqal Chef – Profound Souls (Tribute To Mfr Souls)
03. Gaba Cannal – De Ancestral (Soulful Mix)
04. Luu Nineleven – DK Maboneng (4426 Original Mix)
05. Mfr Souls – The J&L
06. Josiah De Disciple & LennonPercs – Molebatsi
07. Master Jay – Travelling (Main Mix)
08. Morena The Squire – Faith Alive (Gaba Cannal Uptown Suit Mix)
09. Loxion Deep – Someone You Love (Love Affair Groove)
10. Vine Musiq & Senzo SkyBoy – Ai Suka Man

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *