Current track

House Afrika Mixtape Vol. 3

House Afrika Mixtape Vol. 3

Mixed by Snow Deep

HAR201701. 24th February 2017.

Buy Online

Mamelodi’s Snow Deep is still in his early twenties, but you’d never guess it from this slick collection from House Afrika, which already sounds like a timeless document.

Previous ‘House Afrika Mixtape’ releases focussed on producers, with Echo Deep and Kek’star doing a massively fine job of showcasing their dope production work. But now the ‘Mixtape’ reins have been handed over to DJs too, with Snow Deep stepping up first.

Still consisting of 100% local music, Snow Deep has put together a sizzling set that sums up what Mzansi’s open-minded house culture looks like in 2017. It’s jazzy and Afro and broken beat and hip-hop and AmaPiano and kwaito.

Key contributors to Snow Deep’s sensory assault include expert producers like Kabza De Small, Gaba Cannal, the ever-reliable MFR Souls and standout newcomers Mellow Soul.

Not only is the third House Afrika ‘Mixtape’ the year’s best dance release so far, it’s also its most eclectic – and it’s the most authentically South African.

01. Mellow Soul – 7th Street
02. Tumza D’kota – Sweet Lullaby (Original Mix)
03. MFR Souls – That Thing
04. Team Percussion – Thanks To Phoenix
05. Mellow Soul – The Dance
06. Calvin Fallo feat. Tokollo – Beautiful
07. Vine Muziq & Senzo Skyboy – Kopa Metsi (Original Mix)
08. Percy-B, Shuffle Muzik & Senzo – Chomi
09. Calvin Fallo x Dinho x Shuffle Muzik x Snow Deep – Woza
10. MFR Souls – Fairytales
11. Gaba Cannal – 10 Miles
12. The Squad – Sins (Original Mix)
13. Kabza De Small feat. Kopzz Avenue and Thlopzin – Umlilo

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *